Econic Wins Shell UK Chairman Special Award at Shell Springboard 2015!

Econic wins Shell UK Chairman Special Award at the Shell Springboard Awards 2015: The finals of Shell Springboard 2015 took place on 23 March 2015. Econic was amongst six enterprises that had won a place in the finals.The judges this year were Professor Dame Julia King (Vice-Chancellor, Aston University); Martin Powell (Head of Urban Development, Siemens AG); Professor Tim Green (Director of the Energy Futures Lab, Imperial College); and Jonathan Grant (Director of Sustainability and Climate Change, PwC).

The winners were announced by Shell UK Chairman Erik Bonino at the Awards Ceremony on the 24th of March, which followed the Shell Enterprise Conference 2015. The overall national winner was London start-up Deciwatt, and Erik Bonino awarded Econic the Shell UK Chairman Special Award.

The award will support further commercial development of our innovative low-carbon technology. Econic will use their Shell Springboard Award which totals £45,000 to deliver the next steps of concept proof that will act as the springboard for commercialisation of the technology in high molecular weight polycarbonate applications. This would see the catalyst used to produce high value thermoplastic materials potentially suitable for applications as diverse as stadium roofs and car headlights.

Econic’s CEO, Rowena Sellens, says
“The Shell Springboard finals and the Shell Enterprise Conference 2015 gave us a great opportunity to showcase our technology and we really appreciate Erik Bonino’s support and recognition of our technology by awarding us the Shell UK Chairman Special Award”

Author, Frank Norman